Page 2 of 3

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:15 pm
by ddelgrande
The thing I notice is the printhead zis never over the capping station when the 0xF3 error is thrown. Most of the time the printhead stops on the right side of the carriage return; a few times in the middle and never on the left side.

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:18 pm
by Andy
ddelgrande wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:15 pm
The thing I notice is the printhead zis never over the capping station when the 0xF3 error is thrown. Most of the time the printhead stops on the right side of the carriage return; a few times in the middle and never on the left side.
Yeah I think you need to look closely at that encoder wheel. Over time they get dirty or ink fog on them. Also, if it isn't aligned in the center of the sensor it will rub.

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:54 pm
by ddelgrande
Andy wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:18 pm
ddelgrande wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:15 pm
The thing I notice is the printhead zis never over the capping station when the 0xF3 error is thrown. Most of the time the printhead stops on the right side of the carriage return; a few times in the middle and never on the left side.
Yeah I think you need to look closely at that encoder wheel. Over time they get dirty or ink fog on them. Also, if it isn't aligned in the center of the sensor it will rub.
------------------------------------
Well, I've cleaned the encoder wheel as well as I can and the wheel is aligned in th center of the sensor but I'm still getting the0)xF3 error.

What else could this be?

I ran a print purge using EKPrint Studio on each of my CMYK lines and that works fine, but as I stated before the other lines are clogged but I don't use them. Could this be an indication the printhead is hosed and giving me a 0xF3 error?

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:32 pm
by ddelgrande
So why is it that I can run a print purge or a nozzle check and not have a problem but when I try to print color bars from EKPrint Studio I get an 0xF3 error.

You would think for the number of times I have run a print purge/nozzle check I would get at least one 0xF3 error.

Does the encoder not come into play?

What am I missing?

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:03 pm
by Andy
ddelgrande wrote:
Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:32 pm
So why is it that I can run a print purge or a nozzle check and not have a problem but when I try to print color bars from EKPrint Studio I get an 0xF3 error.

You would think for the number of times I have run a print purge/nozzle check I would get at least one 0xF3 error.

Does the encoder not come into play?

What am I missing?
I'm not sure but different RIP actions can cause printer issues.

I've printed a ton on EK RIP with OpenDTG and didn't have errors and then tried Kothari and it errored. Turned out that certain combinations of settings / resolutions made the Epson encoder wheel act completely different and crazy.

Maybe something similar is happening. Do you get the error when printing?

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:00 pm
by ddelgrande
Yes, I get the error when printing. Now this all worked for months using EKPrint and then it got hot and I didn't print as often as I should have and then the 0xF3 error occurred.

The one thing I noticed cleaning the encoder strip and wheel is the encoder strip has what looks like a smear located on the left side of the printer 4 inches in. It cannot be removed and I have no idea how that happened.

Is it worth changing the strip?
Well a damaged encoder strip cause a 0xF3 error?

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:33 am
by Glopear
Did you get any resolution on this? I'm having the same issue. cleaned and changed the encoder strip so pretty sure its not that. The wheel seems fine.

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:05 am
by ddelgrande
No . . . I had this error once before when I first built my P600 and now know it was due to how I built my DTG Printer using the videos from T-Dozer. Bottom line is I didn't cover up the CR and encoder strip and really the whole printer while I hacked up the frame and cut out the CR rod.

But cleaning everything well fixed that problem.

This time cleaning everything didn't work. Now my P600 is open—I have not put the covers back on since I blew up a fuse on the Epson mainboard trying to make things look pretty. So instead I cover the printer when not in use.

I'm thinking it may be the encoder strip since I noticed a smear on the strip that I couldn't remove with an alcohol swab. I don't know how that got there but it's there and no doubt causing a problem.

I came across this info on http://www.justanswer.co.uk/printers/ag ... error.html
which basically says get a new printer.

I'm not going to do that and have a backup printer for parts. Bottom line is if I can't get this to work with parts from my back up printer, then this is the end of my DIY DTG hobby.

What I'm going to do is the following:

1. Change then encoder strip
2. Change the PF sensor

I'll do these first since they're easy to do.

3. Change the encoder wheel
4 Change the print head

My print head is clogged but my CMYK channels are good, so I really don't care about the other channels since I don't use white.
5. Change the CR rod.

If none of those fix the problem then I'm done.

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:14 am
by Andy
ddelgrande wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:05 am
No . . . I had this error once before when I first built my P600 and now know it was due to how I built my DTG Printer using the videos from T-Dozer. Bottom line is I didn't cover up the CR and encoder strip and really the whole printer while I hacked up the frame and cut out the CR rod.

But cleaning everything well fixed that problem.

This time cleaning everything didn't work. Now my P600 is open—I have not put the covers back on since I blew up a fuse on the Epson mainboard trying to make things look pretty. So instead I cover the printer when not in use.

I'm thinking it may be the encoder strip since I noticed a smear on the strip that I couldn't remove with an alcohol swab. I don't know how that got there but it's there and no doubt causing a problem.

I came across this info on http://www.justanswer.co.uk/printers/ag ... error.html
which basically says get a new printer.

I'm not going to do that and have a backup printer for parts. Bottom line is if I can't get this to work with parts from my back up printer, then this is the end of my DIY DTG hobby.

What I'm going to do is the following:

1. Change then encoder strip
2. Change the PF sensor

I'll do these first since they're easy to do.

3. Change the encoder wheel
4 Change the print head

My print head is clogged but my CMYK channels are good, so I really don't care about the other channels since I don't use white.
5. Change the CR rod.

If none of those fix the problem then I'm done.
If it comes to giving up send it over to me and I'll try to figure out what is going wrong for you. You pay shipping, no charge for my labor.

Re: 0xF3 Error on P600

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:12 am
by ddelgrande
Much appreciated, as always, Andy.

I'll try to change the encoder strip, and if need be the pf sensor, this Saturday. I'll keep you posted.

Thanks,

Dave