DIY DTG - Build your own Digital T-Shirt Printer

 
User avatar
Andy
Site Admin
Posts: 1368
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:31 am

You're using t-dozer right?

Did you use the correct pulley?
 
tjello
Contributor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Oslo - Norway

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:36 am

Yes t-dozer. I'm using the pully that was in the t-dozer package.. you mean the thing that the platen is running on, right?
 
tjello
Contributor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Oslo - Norway

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:38 pm

Also the print looks very wet.. 
 
User avatar
Andy
Site Admin
Posts: 1368
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:20 pm

It appears you are missing steps... 

Either a slipping belt, slipping pulley, incorrect pulley or a t-dozer board issue.
 
tjello
Contributor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Oslo - Norway

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:02 pm

Hmm right.. I've tried to tighten the belt pretty hard.. Can it be too tight also? Feels like if I don't tighten it, it gets saggy..
 
ddelgrande
Contributor
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 8:40 am

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:53 pm

Having bought the T-Dozer kit and then going with the OpenDTG AIO board I know the T-Dozer uses and inferior Nema 17 step motor.  I found it on ebay for $8 to $9 dollars.  The other thing is the T-Dozer uses a 14 tooth pulley.  In going with the AIO board I upgraded to a Nema 23 step motor and a 30 tooth pulley to match the OpenDTG code.  

Which brings up the problem with closed systems, you're stuck with what they give you!
 
User avatar
Andy
Site Admin
Posts: 1368
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:31 pm

ddelgrande wrote:
Which brings up the problem with closed systems, you're stuck with what they give you!

That's exactly why I'm leaving the code open. Many use it as intended but there are also just as many that want to adapt it to their own system that they want. 
 
tjello
Contributor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Oslo - Norway

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:24 am

Yes and I will buy a aio board and probably a base kit later to build a second printer once I have things up and running.. But right now I need to prioritize and try to make it work..

I'll check the pully and belt.. I know it was grinding when something was off before so maybe something happened to it.. 
 
User avatar
Andy
Site Admin
Posts: 1368
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:29 am

tjello wrote:
Yes and I will buy a aio board and probably a base kit later to build a second printer once I have things up and running.. But right now I need to prioritize and try to make it work..

I'll check the pully and belt.. I know it was grinding when something was off before so maybe something happened to it.. 

If your platen system is too heavy the motor could be skipping steps internally
 
tjello
Contributor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Oslo - Norway

Re: Trying to print with ekrip

Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:45 am

Ah true.. I haven't added anything that should make in any heavier though.. all original from t-dozer.. 

Bah.. now I', getting the 0x03 error again.. Looks like theres a small scratch in the encoder strip.. Do you know of a place where I can order a new strip?

Found this, but don't like that he has put a clamp on it :p

http://www.ebay.com/itm/EPSON-PHOTO-ENC ... SwCGVX4FqT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest